May 06 2012

Libertarian Party Takes Two Days to Choose Party Officers

Source: Ballot Access News

The Libertarian Party national convention smoothly nominated candidates for President and Vice-President on Saturday, May 5. There were no problems with parliamentary procedure or with the voting process, during the voting for President and Vice-President. However, the voting process for national party officers was very different, and involved the first instance (as far as is known) in which “NOTA” (none of the above) was victorious in national convention voting. The NOTA victory came in the contest for national chair, in one particular vote on Saturday.

Geoff Neale is the new national chair (even though he was not even running as of Saturday); vice-chair is Lee Wrights; Secretary is Ruth Bennett; Treasurer is Tim Hagan. Wrights had sought the party’s presidential nomination and had placed second to Gary Johnson. National committee members-at-large are Bill Redpath of Virginia, Michael Cloud of Arizona, Starchild of California, Arvin Vohra of Maryland, and Wayne Root of Nevada.

Click here to read Ballot Access News comments on this article


Leave a Reply

Alibi3col theme by Themocracy